2021 North American Agroforestry Conference

Virtual Conference

June 28th – July 2nd, 2021

The work to establish and scale up agroforestry for carbon drawdown has only just begun, but the potential is enormous. One acre of alley cropping can sequester nearly a ton of carbon in woody biomass alone. Silvopasture is #4 on Project Drawdown’s list of natural climate solutions. And even just a modest adoption of agroforestry is head and shoulders above other agricultural land-use changes in its potential for carbon sequestration.

The 2021 North American Agroforestry Conference will bring together farmers, landowners, researchers, climate scientists, investors, philanthropists, policymakers, and global leaders on climate change, carbon drawdown, and agroforestry. Together we will tackle the major barriers to scaling agroforestry, focusing on solutions and action. 

We hope you’ll join us!


a graph comparing strategies for carbon drawdown

With even a modest level of adoption, agroforestry could sequester 2.2 gigatons of carbon per year- more than any other agriculture land management approach out there.


How much more carbon could we store if agroforestry were widely adopted?

IPCC (2000); Jose & Barhan (2012) Agroforestry Systems