Comprised of thoughtful leaders and food system innovators who share our vision of more ecological agriculture, the Savanna Institute's Advisory Council advises us on current and future endeavors, connects us with allied efforts and opportunities, and helps share our work more broadly.



Steven I. Apfelbaum - Founder & Chairman, Applied Ecological Services, Inc. - WI


Sallie Calhoun - Owner & Operator, Paicines Ranch - CA

                          President, Globetrotter Foundation


Casey Dahl - Farmer, Feral Farm - WI


Stefan Gailans - Research and Field Crops Director, Practical Farmers of Iowa - IA


Paul Gaynor - Owner, White Oak Savanna Events Farm and Sanctuary - WI

                       Principal, G&R Public Law & Strategies


Michael Gold, PhD - Professor and Director, University of Missouri Center for Agroforestry - MO


John Graham, PhD - Assistant Professor of Biology, Lake Superior State University - MI


Reginaldo Haslett-Marroquín - President-CEO, Regenerative Agriculture Alliance - MN


Brooke Hecht, PhD - President, Center for Humans and Nature - IL


Fred Iutzi - President, The Land Institute - KS


Randy Jackson, PhD - Professor of Grassland Ecology, University of Wisconsin-Madison - WI


Shibu Jose, PhD - Director, The Center for Agroforestry - MO

                             H.E. Garrett Endowed Professor, University of Missouri


Theresa Marquez - Mission Executive, Organic Valley - WI


Diane Mayerfeld - Wisconsin State Coordinator, North Central Sustainable Agriculture

                              Research & Education - WI


Erin Meier - Director, Green Lands Blue Waters - MN


Curt Meine, PhD - Senior Fellow, Aldo Leopold Foundation - WI


Dave Miller - Co-Founder and CEO, Iroquois Valley Farms - IL


Valentin Picasso, PhD - Assistant Professor of Agronomy, University of Wisconsin-Madison - WI


Lindsay Rebhan - Partner & Designer, Ecological Design - MN


George Reistad - Food Policy Coordinator, City of Madison - WI


Ricardo Salvador, PhD - Director and Senior Scientist, Food & Environment Program

                                       Union of Concerned Scientists - DC


Kathy Schmitt - Director, Wisconsin Farm Center - WI


Eric Toensmeier - Author and Lecturer, Yale University - CT


Severine von Tscharner Fleming - Founder and Director, The Greenhorns & Agrarian Trust - NY


Tom Wahl - Farmer, Red Fern Farm - IA


Woody Woodruff - Conservation Associate, Illinois Stewardship Alliance - IL

                               Farmer, Woodruff Family Farm


Wendy Yang, PhD - Assistant Professor of Plant Biology and Geology, University of Illinois at

                                Urbana-Champaign - IL

© 2019 Savanna Institute, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization

site design by Yeoman Filmer | Privacy Policy

Savanna Institute

1360 Regent St. #124

Madison, WI 53715

(608) 448-6432